Ready to play

“Thumbs up, let’s do this!” – Leeroy Jenkins

Hey everyone, and welcome to the Fall Semester. I am excited to be in this class, learning more from @michael and @kyle. I’m a born-again gamer who geeks out over reading Henry Jenkins and James Paul Gee.

I have recently discovered, and am playing around with, Mumble and Vent: two voice-chat systems used in online gaming. I’m  having a little difficulty with them, probably due to my computer’s limitations, but hope to find a way (or new ways) to incorporate them into the library realm.

I spent this summer trying to recover from my spring (the semester that must not be named). Thankfully this summer I attended the SLA conference in San Diego, and received a much-needed boost in energy from the experience. Looking forward to getting to know all of you, learning, and having fun.

-James (and yes, the blog name is in reference to both my love of video games, and one of my new favorite books.)

readyplayerone

Cline, E. (2011). Ready Player One. New York, NY: Broadway Paperbacks.

15 thoughts on “Ready to play

  1. LOVED Ready Player One! It’s funny that you mention it, because another friend brought it up with me yesterday. I didn’t even get most of the 80s trivia (I was a little young and a little tuned out during the 80s) and I still loved it. My friend last night said, “Do you think this is what is going to happen to us? It’s so sad.” I wasn’t sure but I suggested that she read Ender’s Game, which I read for the first time this summer. I found it interesting because he wrote it such a long time ago, and yet it seems like he knew what was going to happen to society. Hopefully we won’t end up in the world of Ready Player One…

  2. From one gamer to another, hello!

    I’ve read some Gee and have encountered good work (and people!) by the great Games, Learning, and Society group at my institution, the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Have you read McGonigal’s “Reality is Broken”?

    I look forward to seeing how you use your interests in gaming and tie them into core course concepts.

    See you around,
    @kyle

    • @kyle

      I’ve attempted to narrow down the list of context readings, and McGonigal’s book is in my short list. Well, I shouldn’t really say “short list” since I’ve only narrowed it down to about 75% of the titles. If you’re recommending it, I might have to put it at the top of the list.

      -@james

  3. My friend and I were just talking about the book today. It was mentioned in an article we had read and one of our patrons made a reference to it. Now I’m going to have to read it and see why everyone is talking about it.

  4. Love love love Ready Player One! After I read it, I couldn’t stop talking about it, and made my husband read it- now he’s an evangelist for the book, too! I only do a little gaming here and there, and I was born in the late 80s, so a lot of the inside jokes went over my head, but there was tons of stuff that I caught, too, and the whole book was just so well done. I was a little nervous when I found out that it’s being made into a movie, but Ernest Cline himself is doing the screenplay, so hopefully it won’t be too bad.

    • @Caryl

      When I read it, I thought it would make a great movie, as long as no one @#$%ed it up. I was happy to learn that Cline wouldn’t let anyone else touch it.

      You and @Allyson mentioned not getting all the 80s references… I was born in the early 70s so I lived through all the references… even remember the Rush video for “Subdivisions” and fighting with my brother over who got to play which side at Joust.

  5. Hi James, it’s good to meet you. Nice use of the Leeroy Jenkins quote. It made me laugh.
    It looks like a lot of people have read Ready Player One. I’ve heard of it, but haven’t had a chance to check it out. I’m going to definitely read it now.

    • Hi Jessica

      I remember seeing the Leeroy clip about 6-7 years ago when it came out. Even though I was far removed from the gaming culture at the time (aka “married”), it was quite amusing. Figured it was appropriate: Sometimes you to just have to jump in to see what works and what doesn’t.

      And yes, I would highly recommend the book!!!

  6. Nice to meet you James. I just have to take a moment to geek out over Ready Player One! Such a great book! I didn’t realize it was being made into a movie; I hope it does the book justice.

  7. James! So glad to see you in #hyperlib. I look forward to your reflections on course topics – especially through the lens of a gamer. Your blog title resonates – the focus on play in #transtech is alive and well here too. Welcome!

Leave a Reply

